Na/GloPoWriMo 2024 – 15

.

Prompt:
Be inspired by a stamp

.

The Stamp

.

I was pleased to meet You: English Queen.
I remember I was very keen
after my aunty told me she would send
your image on a stamp, value 30 cent
in the currency of that year.
Oh, I remember that very clear.

You smiled at me from a light blue letter,
beside a stamp from an irish setter.
The handwriting with curls on capitals so nice,
you looked so royal and so wise.
My aunt adored you, I took my time,
because we also had a queen who was sublime.

Now all are gone: the queens, my aunt.
There are two Kings, and a written number on a letter
and stamps with animals, photos and waterplants,
No licking anymore, they’ ve got something better.

But in my memory there will always be,
the special bond between the English Queen and me.

.

©Syl2024-2027

.

Please leave your url, so I can return the visit.
Gravatar images don’t always give your url.

3 thoughts on “Na/GloPoWriMo 2024 – 15

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started