The Sunday Muse #200 – 3

.

Ukraine – The Mother

.

They will fall
the fathers
the partners
the brothers
and our special dear sons

peace already faded
swapping cocktails
with murderous intent

women stay
and fight,
they’ll perish
by the shadows of
the messengers of darkness

the piano bombed
but the music
is in our minds

fleeing now
with my children
not understanding
what the world has become

I want my children
to live and be happy
Did you birth them
to be murderers
or to be killed
to realize a dream
of someone
with eyes
that don’t look
are eaten
by treacherous brains
living for power?

I walk into a future
under threat
I carry my children
orphans of peace
I will rest
in unknown arms

– + –


war
will always
be conquered

.

Syl©2022-2025
Photography
by Romain Thiery 

.

12 thoughts on “The Sunday Muse #200 – 3

Add yours

  1. We will pray this war will be conquered soon, Syl, and the good Russian people will dispense with Putin. I think he does not speak for them.

    Like

    1. He doesn’t. He tells them lies, so especially the old ones think he’s doing something good.
      They are only hearing what he wants them to hear.
      Some young people have access to some information and they are disgusted.

      Like

  2. “my children, orphans of peace.” So powerful, Syl. The pain of this unbelievable situationis felt everywhere. I note your mention of the eyes of the oppressor – devoid of feeling. A soul already dead.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started