The Sunday Muse #200 – 1

.

Ukraine – The Child

.

mama cried
her eyes were swollen
large
in disbelief and despair

we kissed papa goodbye
I knew he didn’t go
to fetch us warm
sweet smelling bread
under the dark red jam
grandma made

“goodbye daddy!”

mom whispered:
“stay alive”
her tears on his cheek

we went with strangers
not knowing where to sleep
and how to keep
warm and safe

I forgot my doll
will a stranger find
my tear
on her cheek
when the world is
dark red
and none will know
how to sleep?

.

Syl©2022-2025

.

18 thoughts on “The Sunday Muse #200 – 1

Add yours

  1. I really felt this poem, the more so since witnessing a father sobbing as he said goodbye to the small daughter he was sending away to safety. Sigh. Too much heartbreak to be humanly borne.

    Like

    1. Nor can I.
      Checking, thinking, tears.
      My second mother fled from Hungary in the past.
      The love of her life landed at the same city and they found each other and had a very happy life. But there were moments of silence and sadness. Seeing her moved me so deep.

      Like

      1. You are welcome. I recently read that the Neanderthals and the Homo-sapiens were at war for 100,000 years! Not easy to hold onto hope for an improved way of conflict resolution sometimes.

        Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started